Triage Pro BOno Service Training & Annual Pro Bono Celebration

Wednesday, October 24, 2018
Hunton Andrews Kurth

Please join us on Wednesday, October 24 for a Triage practice group training event, followed by our Annual Pro Bono Celebration.  Details below.

Triage Practice Group Tranings 3:00 – 5:00 p.m.
Triage is a comprehensive partnership between Legal Aid and the private bar. The Triage event will feature a plenary session, followed by breakout training sessions.  Learn more about Triage here.

Pro Bono Celebration 5:30 – 7:00 p.m.
This annual event honors the good works of the Foundation’s volunteers and recognizing the recipients of this year’s Benjamin Rice Lacy, IV* Volunteer of the Year and the George H. Hettrick** Leadership Awards. We are delighted to announce that this year’s guest speaker will be The Honorable Roger L. Gregory, Chief Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

RSVP link coming soon!

About the Foundation’s Pro Bono Awards:

*The Late Benjamin R. Lacy, IV was a long time shareholder at Sands Anderson. He had an exemplary career and was recognized by all as a wonderful lawyer, volunteer and friend. In 2008, GRBF recognized Mr. Lacy as the recipient of the first Pro Bono Clearinghouse Volunteer of the Year for his superlative service to nonprofits. In 2010 Mr. Lacy joined the Greater Richmond Bar Foundation’s Board of Directors.  In his honor the Foundation renamed the Clearinghouse Award after Mr. Lacy, posthumously, in 2012.

Past Award Recipients
2017: Bill Gray
 John M. Oakey, Jr.
2015: Phyllis Katz
2014: Samantha S. Otero
2013: G. Andrew Nea, Jr.
2012: TW Bruno
2011: Jamie Barber
2010: Kevin White
2009: Robert Brooke
2008: Ben Lacy

**George H. Hettrick is a founding member of the expanded Greater Richmond Bar Foundation, and Past President. Mr. Hettrick served as Chair of Hunton & Williams’ Pro Bono Leadership Committee and established pro bono offices of Hunton in the Church Hill Community of Richmond, as well as in Charlottesville and in Atlanta. Under his leadership, Hunton has an exemplary pro bono culture and years of 100% pro bono participation. He is the founder of Firms In Service, a pro bono collaboration among Richmond’s big law firms. He currently serves as a member of the Virginia Supreme Court’s Access to Justice Commission.  His pro bono leadership is recognized locally, statewide and nationally.

Past Recipients
2017: Brian Marron 
Steve Northup
2015: Bob Barrett, Matt Kapinos & Heather Lockerman (Veterans Initiative)

The George Hettrick Leadership Award was established in 2015