Join us virtually us on Thursday, October 29 for our 13th Annual Pro Bono Award Celebration and 4th Annual Triage Practice Group Trainings.  Become a sponsor to help further access to Justice.

The Triage Project is a comprehensive partnership between the Central Virginia Legal Aid Society and the private bar involving critical needs handled by virtual practice groups led by private bar Champions.  Read more.




Triage Practice Group Training 4:00 – 5:00 p.m.

Join us for a plenary session followed by training focused eviction diversion.  Learn how you can personally impact the access to Justice gap!  (CLE applications will be submitted).

Pro Bono Celebration 5:00 – 6:00 p.m.

Following the Triage trainings, we will host our annual Pro Bono Celebration, featuring keynote speaker Eve Runyon, President and CEO of the Pro Bono Institute, honoring the good works of the Foundation’s volunteers and recognizing our 2020 award recipients.


Questions?  Contact Shane Harper at





CarMax Legal   •   Troutman Pepper   •   ThompsonMcMullan


About the Keynote Speaker:

Eve Runyon is the President and CEO of the Pro Bono Institute (“PBI”) in Washington, D.C., and is one of the nation’s top leaders in the pro bono space.  Eve is a partner and a thought-leader in the pro bono space, rethinking partnerships with in-house law departments, law firms, and court systems throughout the United States.  A graduate of the University of Virginia and the Yale School of Law, Eve has dedicated her career to helping those less fortunate obtain much needed legal services.  Starting out as an attorney with Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher, & Flom in Washington, D.C., Eve participated in a lending program where she participated in a seven-month externship program with Legal Aid Society of the District of Columbia. At Legal Aid, she served as lead counsel in child custody, child support, domestic violence, landlord-tenant, housing, and public benefits cases. Eve has brought leadership, passion, innovation, and a deep commitment to pro bono and access to justice in her role as president and CEO of PBI, and we are excited to have her share her insight and thoughts around pro bono at our Pro Bono Celebration. 


About the Foundation’s Pro Bono Awards:

The Late Benjamin R. Lacy, IV was a long time shareholder at Sands Anderson.  He had an exemplary career and was recognized by all as a wonderful lawyer, volunteer, and friend.  In 2008, GRBF recognized Mr. Lacy as the recipient of the first Pro Bono Clearinghouse Volunteer of the Year for his superlative service to nonprofits.  In 2010 Mr. Lacy joined the Greater Richmond Bar Foundation’s Board of Directors.  In his honor, the Foundation renamed the Clearinghouse Award after Mr. Lacy, posthumously, in 2012.

Past Recipients

2019: Colleen M. Nichols
2018: Christopher “Chris” M. Malone
J. William “Bill” Gray, Jr.
 John M. Oakey, Jr.
2015: Phyllis Katz
2014: Samantha “Sam” S. Otero
2013: G. Andrew “Andy” Nea, Jr.
2012: T.W. Bruno
2011: Jamie Barber
2010: Kevin A. White
2009: Robert Brooke
2008: Benjamin “Ben” R. Lacy, IV


*George H. Hettrick is a founding member of the expanded Greater Richmond Bar Foundation, and Past President.  Mr. Hettrick served as Chair of Hunton & Williams’ Pro Bono Leadership Committee and established pro bono offices of Hunton in the Church Hill Community of Richmond, as well as in Charlottesville and in Atlanta.  Under his leadership, Hunton has an exemplary pro bono culture and years of 100% pro bono participation.  He is the founder of Firms In Service, a pro bono collaboration among Richmond’s big law firms.  He currently serves as a member of the Virginia Supreme Court’s Access to Justice Commission.  His pro bono leadership is recognized locally, statewide, and nationally.

Past Recipients

2019: Martin “Marty” Wegbreit
2018: Lonnie “Chip” D. Nunley, III
Brian R. Marron 
Stephen “Steve” A. Northup
2015: Bob Barrett, Matt Kapinos & Heather Lockerman (Veterans Initiative)

*The George Hettrick Leadership Award was established in 2015

Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial